Logo

VANS SOLE

We’ve Got Sole. Because our roots in action sports, including surfing and snowboarding, depend on a healthy environment, we have a vested interest in protecting the planet and improving global communities for future generations. We’re committed to reducing the ecological footprint of our operations and products. Vans Sole, our environmental program, is divided into 3 pillars: Green Sole OperationsGreen Sole Product and Street Sole.

Since 1966, the Vans brand has always been about the people. We’re dedicated to keeping that Van Doren family spirit alive by supporting and enhancing the communities in which we work. The Van Doren, brothers James and Paul, founded the company, and many members of founding family and the Vans culture are still part of the brand today.

GREEN SOLE OPERATIONS

As a leading global footwear, apparel and accessory brand, our operational footprint of offices, distribution centers and retail stores continues to grow. Our Green Sole Operations initiative helps keep our team on track to reduce our environmental simultaneously. Green Sole Operations focuses on two key areas: Energy and Waste.

OUR HEADQUATERS

Since 2012, we have doubled waste diversion at our Cypress, California headquarters. We recycled over 50% of our waste in 2014. This year, our goal is to reach 55% recycling.

Some of the steps we’ve taken so far:

  • Throw It Out, Responsibly. Throughout all of our Vans office buildings our waste stations are clearly marked with descriptive signage so that everyone can dispose of waste easily and efficiently.
  • Stay Hydrated. But use a reusable cup. Every employee has a reusable coffee mug and water bottle. We’ve installed filtered tap water stations to eliminate use of disposable plastic water bottles.
  • Silver or Plastic? That’s an easy answer. We’ve replaced plastic break room utensils with reusable silverware, saving 3,000 plastic utensils per month. That’s a lot of utensils.
  • Keep Score. We publish a monthly operational sustainability scorecard so that our goals relating to energy use, waste diversion and paper use are clearly communicated – to everyone.

In 2014, we installed 4 electric vehicle-charging stations. Charging stations are free for Vans employees and they help reduce greenhouse gas emissions compared to gasoline-powered vehicles.

Our offices in Canada and Europe are going green as well by thoughtfully integrating sustainability elements, which include waste reduction and energy efficiency efforts.

DISTRIBUTION CENTER

Vans’ Santa Fe Springs, California Distribution Center is in the top 25% of distribution centers worldwide for energy efficiency as rated by the Energy Star rating system. In 2013, it became a zero waste to landfill facility. This means over 95% of waste from our distribution center is recycled. The remaining waste is diverted to a waste-to-energy facility. In 2014, we recycled over 97% of waste at this facility. Here are some of the ways we accomplished this:

  • Divert It. Throughout all of our Vans office buildings our waste stations are clearly marked with descriptive signage so that everyone can dispose of waste easily and efficiently.
  • Saving Cardboard. We recycle more than 11,000 lbs. of cardboard each day, saving enough energy to power the average American home for more a year!
  • Think Outside the Shipping Box. Our comprehensive box reuse project is aimed at reusing as many inbound shipping boxes as possible for outbound shipping. Can you believe this saves more than 120,000 lbs. of cardboard each year?
  • Give Back. Since 2012, we’ve been donating the proceeds from recycled cans to local charities.

Our Vans Mexico City Distribution Center is certified to the LEED standard, an internationally recognized certification system which provides third-party verification that a building was designed and built using strategies aimed at increasing performance, reducing waste and improving quality of life.

OUR RETAIL STORES

We operate over 300 retail stores in North America with over 1.5 million square feet of space. This is the largest opportunity for us to reduce our operational environmental impact. Some of the ways we’re achieving this:

  • Smarter Materials. Our retail stores are built with FSC certified wood fixtures and low-VOC paint.
  • Light It Right. Since 2012, we’ve been installing new energy efficient LED track lighting for all new and remodeled stores. LED fixtures use over 40% less energy compared to previous fixtures. More than half of our stores in North America currently use LED lighting, with the goal of converting 100% of our stores to LEDs.
  • It’s In The Bag. Since 2013, we’ve been selling a reusable shopping bag, with proceeds benefiting the A.skate foundation and Surfer’s Healing. To date, we’ve donated over $1 million to these charities through the sale of this bag and saved approximately 75,000 lbs. of plastic.

Logo

SEMELLE VANS

Nous avons la semelle. Parce que nos racines dans les sports d'action, y compris le surf et le snowboard, dépendent d'un environnement sain, nous avons tout intérêt à protéger la planète et à améliorer les communautés mondiales pour les générations futures. Nous nous engageons à réduire l'empreinte écologique de nos opérations et de nos produits. Vans Sole, notre programme environnemental, est divisé en 3 piliers: Opérations vertes, produit unique vert and Semelle de rue.

Depuis 1966, la marque Vans a toujours été au cœur des gens. Nous nous engageons à garder cela Van Doren l'esprit de famille vivant en soutenant et en valorisant les communautés dans lesquelles nous travaillons. Les Van Doren, les frères James et Paul, ont fondé l'entreprise, et de nombreux membres de la famille fondatrice et de la culture Vans font toujours partie de la marque aujourd'hui.

OPÉRATIONS DE SEMELLE VERTE

En tant que principale marque mondiale de chaussures, de vêtements et d'accessoires, notre empreinte opérationnelle de bureaux, de centres de distribution et de magasins de détail continue de croître. Notre initiative Green Sole Operations permet à notre équipe de rester sur la bonne voie pour réduire simultanément notre environnement. Green Sole Operations se concentre sur deux domaines clés: Énergie and Déchets.

NOTRE SIÈGE SOCIAL

Depuis 2012, nous avons doublé le réacheminement des déchets à notre siège social de Cypress, en Californie. Nous avons recyclé plus de 50% de nos déchets en 2014. Cette année, notre objectif est d'atteindre 55% de recyclage.

Certaines des mesures que nous avons prises jusqu'à présent:

  • Jetez-le de manière responsable. Dans tous nos immeubles de bureaux Vans, nos stations de déchets sont clairement signalées par une signalisation descriptive afin que chacun puisse éliminer les déchets facilement et efficacement.
  • Restez hydraté. Mais utilisez une tasse réutilisable. Chaque employé a une tasse de café et une bouteille d'eau réutilisables. Nous avons installé des stations d’eau filtrée du robinet pour éliminer l’utilisation de bouteilles d’eau en plastique jetables.
  • Argent ou plastique? C’est une réponse simple. Nous avons remplacé les ustensiles de salle de repos en plastique par de l'argenterie réutilisable, ce qui permet d'économiser 3 000 ustensiles en plastique par mois. C’est beaucoup d’ustensiles.
  • Gardez le score. Nous publions un tableau de bord mensuel de durabilité opérationnelle afin que nos objectifs relatifs à la consommation d'énergie, au réacheminement des déchets et à l'utilisation du papier soient clairement communiqués - à tout le monde.

En 2014, nous avons installé 4 bornes de recharge pour véhicules électriques. Les bornes de recharge sont gratuites pour les employés de Vans et contribuent à réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre par rapport aux véhicules à essence.

Nos bureaux à Canada and Europe se mettent également au vert en intégrant de manière réfléchie des éléments de durabilité, notamment des efforts de réduction des déchets et d'efficacité énergétique.

CENTRE DE DISTRIBUTION

Le centre de distribution de Vans à Santa Fe Springs, en Californie, fait partie des 25% des centres de distribution les plus performants du monde en termes d'efficacité énergétique, comme le note le Energy Star système d'évaluation. En 2013, il est devenu un Zero gaspillage à la décharge.Cela signifie que plus de 95% des déchets de notre centre de distribution sont recyclés. Les déchets restants sont détournés vers une installation de valorisation énergétique des déchets. En 2014, nous avons recyclé plus de 97% des déchets de cette installation. Voici quelques-unes des façons dont nous avons accompli cela:

  • Détournez-le. Dans tous nos immeubles de bureaux Vans, nos stations de déchets sont clairement signalées par une signalisation descriptive afin que chacun puisse éliminer les déchets facilement et efficacement.
  • Carton d'épargne. Nous recyclons plus de 11 000 livres. de carton chaque jour, économisant suffisamment d'énergie pour alimenter la maison américaine moyenne pendant plus d'un an!
  • Pensez en dehors de la boîte d'expédition. Notre projet complet de réutilisation de boîtes vise à réutiliser autant de boîtes d'expédition entrantes que possible pour l'expédition sortante. Pouvez-vous croire que cela économise plus de 120 000 livres. de carton chaque année?
  • Redonner. Depuis 2012, nous reversons les bénéfices des canettes recyclées à des associations caritatives locales.

Notre centre de distribution Vans Mexico est certifié LEED standard, un système de certification internationalement reconnu qui permet de vérifier par un tiers qu'un bâtiment a été conçu et construit en utilisant des stratégies visant à augmenter les performances, réduire les déchets et améliorer la qualité de vie.

NOS MAGASINS DE DÉTAIL

Nous exploitons plus de 300 magasins de détail en Amérique du Nord avec plus de 1,5 million de pieds carrés d'espace. Il s'agit de la plus grande opportunité pour nous de réduire notre impact environnemental opérationnel. Voici quelques-unes des façons dont nous y parvenons:

  • Des matériaux plus intelligents. Nos magasins de détail sont construits avec des luminaires en bois certifiés FSC et de la peinture à faible teneur en COV.
  • Allumez-le bien. Depuis 2012, nous installons un nouvel éclairage sur rail à DEL écoénergétique pour tous les magasins neufs et rénovés. Les luminaires LED utilisent plus de 40% d'énergie en moins par rapport aux luminaires précédents. Plus de la moitié de nos magasins en Amérique du Nord utilisent actuellement l'éclairage LED, dans le but de convertir 100% de nos magasins en LED.
  • C'est dans le sac. Depuis 2013, nous vendons un sac à provisions réutilisable, dont les bénéfices profitent au A.skate foundation and Guérison du surfeur. À ce jour, nous avons fait don de plus d'un million de dollars à ces organismes de bienfaisance grâce à la vente de ce sac et économisé environ 75 000 livres. de plastique.